Brown University
Public Policy

Grants & Awards

2015 John Hazen White, Sr. Interns

2015 John Hazen White, Sr. Interns with Public Policy Program Director James Morone.

Internship Funding

All public policy concentrators have the opportunity to apply for internship funding through the following programs:

Noah Krieger ’93 Internship

This award provides a $4,500 stipend for an oustanding public policy concentrator who is particularly interested in public service to pursue an eight-week unpaid summer internship. Applications for summer internships will be due in April 14.

Happy and John Hazen White, Sr. Internship

Up to eight White award recipients receive $4,000 for an eight-week summer internship. Stipends are awarded based on academic performance and on the proposed integration of the internship with future academic work. Preference will be given to students who have not already received a White award. You may apply for a White internship without having secured a definite position with an organization (you may list several options on the application), however, you must have a position with an approved organization no later than mid-May to receive funding. Applications for summer internships will be due in April 14. Link to the application form coming soon!

Governor Frank Licht Internship

Each year one or two public policy concentrators are named Governor Frank Licht interns and work in the office of the governor of Rhode Island for a full year. Licht interns may receive academic credit for the spring semester (when the time commitment will be greatest) and a stipend of $2,500 through an endowment by the family of the late Governor Frank Licht ’38. Applications for the next academic year are due to to Melissa Nicholaus,, by October 2. Download the application here.

Public Policy Concentrator Awards

These awards are announced at the annual end-of-year Public Policy Program celebration.

The Noah Krieger Prize for Academic Excellence

Established by his family in 1995 to honor the memory of Noah Krieger ’93, the Krieger Prize recognizes a graduating senior for academic achievement in the concentration. Faculty members select a winner who is recognized at the annual awards ceremony and receives an endowed award from the Noah Krieger Memorial Prize Fund.

The Frederick Lippitt Prize for Public Service

The Frederick Lippitt Prize recognizes one member of each graduating class in honor of the late Mr. Lippitt’s long career in public service. Faculty members select a student who has demonstrated outstanding public service during his or her years at Brown, and who holds promise of pursuing a career in public service. The winner receives the Frederick Lippitt Prize at the year-end annual awards ceremony.

Public Policy Service Award

This award recognizes one or more students who have contributed outstanding service and leadership to the Public Policy Program, typically by supporting a strong and active Department Undergraduate Group (DUG).