Watson Institute at Brown University
Development Studies

Student Achievement

Austin Cole '15 wins Fulbright award (Columbia)

David Adler '14 and Rie Ohta '13.5 win Fulbright awards in Mexico and Malaysia, respectively.

Hannah Cockrell '13 wins the Anca Romantan Memorial Award for Outstanding Thesis in Development Studies.

Kathryn Cohen '13 and Erin Jones '12.5 win the Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence.

Hannah Cockrell '13 and Erin Jones 12.5 graduate magna cum laude.

Robert Schlaegel '13, Hannah Cockrell '13, Josephine Korijn '13,Kathryn Cohen '13, Erin Jones '12.5, Addie Thompson '12.5 and Dung Nguyen Vu '12.5 are awarded honors in DS.

Four DS concentrators were among the 104 members of the class of 2012 elected to Phi Beta Kappa: Sophie Kainen, Colleen McDonald, Sanna Vohra, andAshlie Williams.

Isaac Jabola-Carolus '12 article, was accepted for the 2012 publication of the undergrad journal Sociological Insight."[The paper] provides a nice mix of theory and qualitative research illuminating a number of important but neglected issues in social movement studies."

Patrick Martin-Tuite '11 article "Whose Science?": AIDS, History, and Public Knowledge in South Africa was published in Intersect: The Stanford Journal of Science, Technology & Society [Vol 4 (2011) 4th Edition].

Masumi Hayashi-Smith '11 article, "Contesting Buddhisms on Conflicted Land: Sarvodaya Shramadana and Buddhist Peacemaking" was published in the June 2011, Volume XXXVIII, Number 2 issue of the Journal of Sociology and Social Welfare.

Elizabeth C. Adler '11 won her class's Distinguished Senior Thesis Award for her Development Studies Program thesis on "Practicing Good Medicine: Community-based Diagnosis and Prognosis for Promoting Obstetric Care Access and Use in Rural Nepal."