Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
Facebook Twitter YouTube Trending Globally Podcast Instagram LinkedIn Tumblr Email list

American Foreign Policy in the Age of Trump: George Packer in Conversation with Jeffrey Goldberg

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

5 p.m. – 6:30 p.m.

Watch on Watson's YouTube Channel. 85 Waterman Street, Room 130

Watch on Youtube

George Packer is a staff writer at The Atlantic. He is the author of Our Man: Richard Holbrooke and the End of the American Century and The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America, which was a New York Times best seller and winner of the 2013 National Book Award. His other nonfiction books include The Assassins’ Gate: America in Iraq, a finalist for the 2006 Pulitzer Prize, and Blood of the Liberals, winner of the 2001 Robert F. Kennedy Book Award. He is also the author of two novels and a play, Betrayed, winner of the 2008 Lucille Lortel Award, and the editor of a two-volume edition of the essays of George Orwell.

Jeffrey Goldberg is the 14th editor in chief of The Atlantic. Previously, Goldberg served as a national correspondent for the magazine, and earlier, he served as Washington correspondent, and Middle East correspondent, of The New Yorker. He is a recipient of numerous journalism prizes, including the National Magazine Award for Reporting, for his coverage of Islamist terrorism, and the Daniel Pearl Prize. Over the course of his career, he has interviewed numerous heads of state, including Presidents Barack Obama and George W. Bush, Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, and Jordan's King Abdullah II. His reporting has taken him to Iraq, Iran, Pakistan, Sudan, Afghanistan, Syria and Lebanon. He is currently a Visiting Distinguished Fellow at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace. He began his career at The Washington Post, and served for several years as a foreign correspondent for The New York Times Magazine. He is also the author of Prisoners: A Story of Friendship and Terror.

Meet the Author
Watson Distinguished Speaker Series