Middle East Studies

Faculty

Shahzad Bashir
Director, Middle East Studies
Aga Khan Professor of Islamic Humanities
Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Religious Studies
shahzad_bashir@brown.edu

Ruth Adler Ben Yehuda
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Judaic Studies
Department: Judaic Studies
ruth_adler_ben_yehuda@brown.edu

Faiz Ahmed
Associate Professor of History
Department: History
Office: 79 Brown St., Room 006
faiz_ahmed@brown.edu

Nadje Al-Ali
Robert Family Professor of International Studies
Professor of Anthropology and Middle East Studies
Department: Anthropology, Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
Office: 111 Thayer St., Room 211
nadje_al-ali@brown.edu

Iraj Anver
Visiting Lecturer in Language Studies
Department: Center for Language Studies
Office: By Appointment
iraj_anver@brown.edu

Ariella Azoulay
Professor of Comparative Literature and Modern Culture and Media
Department: Comparative Literature, Modern Culture and Media
Office: 155 George St., Rm 211
ariella_azoulay@brown.edu

Omer Bartov
John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History
Professor of German Studies
Department: German Studies, History
Office: 79 Brown St., Room 201
omer_bartov@brown.edu

Elsa Belmont Flores
Visiting Lecturer in Language Studies
Department: Center for Language Studies
elsa_belmont_flores@brown.edu

Reda Bensmaia
University Professor Emeritus of French Studies and Comparative Literature
Department: Comparative Literature, French Studies
reda_bensmaia@brown.edu 

Laurel Bestock
Associate Professor of Archaeology and the Ancient World and Egyptology and Assyriology
Associate Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Department: Archaeology and the Ancient World, Egyptology and Assyriology, History of Art and Architecture
laurel_bestock@brown.edu

Sheila Bonde
Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Chair of History of Art and Architecture
Professor of Archaeology and the Ancient World
Department: Archaeology and the Ancient World, History of Art & Architecture
sheila_bonde@brown.edu 

Mirena Christoff
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Arabic Studies
Associate Director for Language Instruction
Department: Center for Language Studies
mirena_christoff@brown.edu

Jonathan Conant
Associate Professor of History
Associate Professor of Classics
Department: Classics, History
jonathan_conant@brown.edu

Joan Copjec
Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Department: Modern Culture and Media
joan_copjec@brown.edu

Leo Depuydt
Professor of Egyptology and Assyriology
Department: Egyptology and Assyriology
leo_depuydt@brown.edu

Lisa Di Carlo
Lecturer in Sociology
Department: Sociology
Office: 108 George St., Room 404
lisa_dicarlo@brown.edu

Beshara Doumani
Joukowsky Family Distinguished Professor of Modern Middle East History
Professor of History
Department: History
beshara_doumani@brown.edu

Emily Drumsta
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
Department: Comparative Literature
emily_drumsta@brown.edu

Miled Faiza
Senior Lecturer in Language Studies
Department: Center for Language Studies
miled_faiza@brown.edu

Lina Fruzzetti
Professor of Anthropology
Department: Anthropology
lina_fruzzetti@brown.edu

Yannis Hamilakis
Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology
Professor of Modern Greek Studies
Department: Archaeology and the Ancient World, Classics
yannis_hamilakis@brown.edu

Jae Han
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Religious Studies
jae_han@brown.edu

Jo-Anne Hart
Adjunct Professor of International and Public Affairs
Department: Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
jo-anne_hart@brown.edu

Susan Harvey
Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence
Willard Prescott and Annie McClelland Smith Professor of History and Religion
Department: Medieval Studies, Religious Studies
Office: 59 George St., Room 304
susan_harvey@brown.edu

Alla Hassan
Lecturer in Language Studies
Department: Center for Language Studies
alla_hassan@brown.edu

Dennis Hogan
Robert E. Turner Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Population Studies
Professor of Population Studies
Department: Sociology
dennis_hogan@brown.edu

David Jacobson
Professor of Judaic Studies
Department: Judaic Studies
david_jacobson@brown.edu

Jennifer Johnson
Assistant Professor of History
Department: History
jennifer_johnson1@brown.edu

Martha Joukowsky
Professor Emerita of Archaeology and the Ancient World
Department: Archaeology and the Ancient World
martha_joukowsky@brown.edu

Nancy Khalek
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Religious Studies
Office: 59 George St., Room 205
nancy_khalek@brown.edu

Stephen Kinzer
Senior Fellow in International and Public Affairs
Department: Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
Office: 280 Brook St., Room 211
stephen_kinzer@brown.edu

Virginia Krause
Professor of French Studies
Department: French Studies
virginia_krause@brown.edu

Sreemati Mitter
Kutayba Alghanim Assistant Professor of Middle Eastern History and International and Public Affairs
Department: History, Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
Office: 111 Thayer St., Room 225
sreemati_mitter@brown.edu

Ourida Mostefai
Professor of Comparative Literature and French Studies
Department: Comparative Literature, French Studies
Office: 84 Prospect St., Room 201
ourida_mostefai@brown.edu

Elias Muhanna
Manning Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
Department: Comparative Literature
elias_muhanna@brown.edu

Paul Nahme
Dorot Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Judaic Studies, Religious Studies
Office: 163 George St, Room 301
paul_nahme@brown.edu

Saul Olyan
Director, Program in Judaic Studies
Samuel Ungerleider Jr. Professor of Judaic Studies
Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Judaic Studies, Religious Studies
saul_olyan@brown.edu

Stratis Papaioannou
Associate Professor of Classics
Department: Classics, Medieval Studies
sp@brown.edu

Amy Remensnyder
Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence
Professor of History
Department: History, Medieval Studies
Office: 79 Brown St., Room 202C
amy_remensnyder@brown.edu

Rachel Rojanski
Senior Lecturer in Judaic Studies
Adjunct Professor of History
Department: History, Judaic Studies
rachel_rojanski@brown.edu

Felipe Rojas Silva
Assistant Professor of Archaeology and the Ancient World and Egyptology and Assyriology
Department: Archaeology, Egyptology and Assyriology
felipe_rojas@brown.edu

Matthew Rutz
Assistant Professor of Egyptology and Assyriology
Department: Egyptology and Assyriology
matthew_rutz@brown.edu

Michael Satlow
Professor of Judaic Studies and Religious Studies
Department: Judaic Studies, Religious Studies
michael_satlow@brown.edu

Holly Shaffer
Assistant Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Department: History of Art and Architecture
Office: List Art, Room 419
holly_shaffer@brown.edu

John Steele
Professor of Egyptology and Assyriology
Chair of Egyptology and Assyriology
Department: Egyptology and Assyriology
john_steele@brown.edu

Nina Tannenwald
Senior Lecturer in Political Science
Department: Political Science
Office: 111 Thayer St., Room 321
nina_tannenwald@brown.edu

Vazira Zamindar
Associate Professor of History
Department: History
vfyz@brown.edu

Back to Top ^