Middle East Studies

Steering Committee

Shahzad Bashir
Director, Middle East Studies
Aga Khan Professor of Islamic Humanities
Professor of History and Religious Studies
Department: Religious Studies
shahzad_bashir@brown.edu

Nadje Al-Ali
Robert Family Professor of International Studies
Professor of Anthropology and Middle East Studies
Department: Anthropology, Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
Office: 111 Thayer St., Room 211
nadje_al-ali@brown.edu

Dima Amso
Associate Professor of Cognitive, Linguistic and Psychological Sciences
Department: Cognitive Linguistic & Psychological Sciences
dima_amso@brown.edu

Omer Bartov
John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History
Professor of German Studies
Department: German Studies, History
Office: 79 Brown St., Room 201
omer_bartov@brown.edu

Beshara Doumani
Joukowsky Family Distinguished Professor of Modern Middle East History
Professor of History
Department: History
beshara_doumani@brown.edu

Nancy Khalek
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Religious Studies
Office: 59 George St., Room 205
nancy_khalek@brown.edu

Elias Muhanna
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Department: Comparative Literature
elias_muhanna@brown.edu