Middle East Studies

Faculty

Nadje Al-Ali
Director, Center for Middle East Studies
Robert Family Professor of International Studies
Professor of Anthropology and Middle East Studies
Department: Anthropology, Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
nadje_al-ali@brown.edu

Ruth Adler Ben Yehuda
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Judaic Studies 
Department: Judaic Studies
ruth_adler_ben_yehuda@brown.edu

Faiz Ahmed
Associate Professor of History
Department: History
faiz_ahmed@brown.edu

Ariella Azoulay
Professor of Comparative Literature and Modern Culture and Media
Department: Comparative Literature, Modern Culture and Media
ariella_azoulay@brown.edu

Omer Bartov
John P. Birkelund Distinguished Professor of European History
Professor of History
Department: History
omer_bartov@brown.edu

Shahzad Bashir
Aga Khan Professor of Islamic Humanities
Professor of History and Religious Studies
Department: Religious Studies
shahzad_bashir@brown.edu

Laurel Bestock
Associate Professor of Archaeology and the Ancient World and Egyptology and Assyriology
Associate Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Department: Archaeology and the Ancient World, Egyptology and Assyriology, History of Art and Architecture
laurel_bestock@brown.edu

Sheila Bonde
Christopher Chan and Michelle Ma Professor of the History of Art
Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Professor of Archaeology 
Department: History of Art & Architecture / Archaeology and the Ancient World
sheila_bonde@brown.edu 

Mirena Christoff
Distinguished Senior Lecturer in Arabic Studies
Associate Director for Language Instruction
Department: Center for Language Studies
mirena_christoff@brown.edu

Jonathan Conant
Associate Professor of History
Associate Professor of Classics
Department: Classics, History
jonathan_conant@brown.edu

Joan Copjec
Professor of Modern Culture and Media
Department: Modern Culture and Media
joan_copjec@brown.edu

Leo Depuydt
Professor of Egyptology and Assyriology
Department: Egyptology and Assyriology
leo_depuydt@brown.edu

Lisa Di Carlo
Lecturer in Sociology
Department: Sociology
lisa_dicarlo@brown.edu

Beshara Doumani
Mahmoud Darwish Professor of Palestinian Studies
Professor of History
Department: History
beshara_doumani@brown.edu

Emily Drumsta
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
Department: Comparative Literature
emily_drumsta@brown.edu

Miled Faiza
Senior Lecturer in Language Studies (Arabic)
Department: Center for Language Studies
miled_faiza@brown.edu

Lina Fruzzetti
Professor of Anthropology
Department: Anthropology
lina_fruzzetti@brown.edu

Yannis Hamilakis
Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology
Professor of Modern Greek Studies
Department: Archaeology and the Ancient World, Classics
yannis_hamilakis@brown.edu

Jae Han
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Religious Studies
jae_han@brown.edu

Jo-Anne Hart
Adjunct Professor of International and Public Affairs
Department: Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
jo-anne_hart@brown.edu

Susan Ashbrook Harvey
Director, Program in Early Cultures
Willard Prescott and Annie McClelland Smith Professor of History and Religion
Department: Religious Studies
susan_harvey@brown.edu

Alla Hassan
Lecturer in Language Studies (Arabic)
Department: Center for Language Studies
alla_hassan@brown.edu

David Jacobson
Professor of Judaic Studies
Department: Judaic Studies
david_jacobson@brown.edu

Jennifer Johnson
Associate Professor of History
Department: History
jennifer_johnson1@brown.edu

Martha Joukowsky
Professor Emerita of Archaeology and the Ancient World
Department: Archaeology and the Ancient World
martha_joukowsky@brown.edu

Nancy Khalek
Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Religious Studies
nancy_khalek@brown.edu

Stephen Kinzer
Senior Fellow in International and Public Affairs
Department: Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
stephen_kinzer@brown.edu

Virginia Krause
Professor of French Studies
Department: French Studies
virginia_krause@brown.edu

Sreemati Mitter
Kutayba Alghanim Assistant Professor of Middle Eastern History and International and Public Affairs
Department: History, Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs
sreemati_mitter@brown.edu

Ourida Mostefai
Professor of Comparative Literature and French Studies
Department: Comparative Literature, French Studies
ourida_mostefai@brown.edu

Elias Muhanna
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Department: Comparative Literature
elias_muhanna@brown.edu

Paul Nahme
Dorot Assistant Professor of Judaic Studies
Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Judaic Studies, Religious Studies
paul_nahme@brown.edu

Saul Olyan
Director, Program in Judaic Studies
Samuel Ungerleider Jr. Professor of Judaic Studies
Professor of Religious Studies
Department: Judaic Studies, Religious Studies
saul_olyan@brown.edu

Amy Remensnyder
Royce Family Professor of Teaching Excellence
Professor of History
Department: History, Medieval Studies
amy_remensnyder@brown.edu

Rachel Rojanski
Associate Professor of Judaic Studies
Adjunct Professor of History
Department: History, Judaic Studies
rachel_rojanski@brown.edu

Felipe Rojas Silva
Associate Professor of Archaeology and the Ancient World and Egyptology and Assyriology
Department: Archaeology, Egyptology and Assyriology
felipe_rojas@brown.edu

Matthew Rutz
Associate Professor of Egyptology and Assyriology, Chair of Egyptology and Assyriology
Department: Egyptology and Assyriology
matthew_rutz@brown.edu

Kenneth Sacks
Professor of History
Department: History
kenneth_sacks@brown.edu

Michael Satlow
Professor of Judaic Studies and Religious Studies
Department: Judaic Studies, Religious Studies
michael_satlow@brown.edu

Holly Shaffer
Assistant Professor of History of Art and Architecture
Department: History of Art and Architecture
holly_shaffer@brown.edu

John Steele
Professor of Egyptology and Assyriology
Chair of Egyptology and Assyriology
Department: Egyptology and Assyriology
john_steele@brown.edu

Nina Tannenwald
Senior Lecturer in Political Science
Department: Political Science
nina_tannenwald@brown.edu

Vazira Zamindar
Associate Professor of History
Department: History
vfyz@brown.edu

Back to Top ^